## Oxfordshire Badminton League (OBL)

## Constitution

- 1. The name of the League shall be the 'Oxfordshire Badminton League', hereinafter called the League.
- 2. The object of the League is to promote interest in, and improve the standard of, badminton in Oxfordshire, through the organisation of competitive badminton.
- 3. The League is affiliated to the Oxfordshire Badminton Association and Clubs who are members of the League must in turn be affiliated to a County Badminton Association or to the British Universities & Colleges Sport (BUCS).
- 4. An Annual General Meeting (AGM) shall be held each year during May. Other General Meetings may be convened either on the advice of the League Executive Committee (hereinafter called the Committee) or at the request of more than 50% of the Clubs in the League.
- 5. The Committee shall consist of a minimum of 7 and a maximum of 10 members, to include Chair, OBL Secretary and Treasurer, who will be elected each year at the AGM. The Committee shall be empowered to co-opt additional members. The Chair will have the casting vote only, on all matters at the AGM and Committee meetings.
- 6. A quorum for the Committee shall be 50% of Committee members and a quorum for General Meetings shall be 50% of the Clubs in the League. At General Meetings each Club shall have one vote.
- 7. The organisation of the League shall be governed by a series of Rules, a copy of which will be available to all Clubs.
- 8. Any proposed amendment to the League Constitution or to the Rules should be notified in writing to the OBL Secretary one clear month before the AGM in that year. The proposal must be supported by two League Clubs before it can be put to the General Meeting, unless it is a proposal put forward by the Committee. Changes to either the Constitution or the Rules may only be made if they are supported by at least 50% of Clubs present at the General Meeting where changes are presented.

Janet Atkins
OBL League Secretary

21 May 2023

The Constitution was updated at the 2023 AGM held on 17 May 2023:

- 1. To reduce the minimum number on the Committee from 8 to a minimum of 7 (s 5).
- 2. To amend the quorum for the Committee to 50% of members to 5 (s 6).
- 3. To replace references to Chairman with Chair.